Ed Hird’s chapter in A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider

When You’re Understood, You Can Put Up with Almost Anything

Page 99

In a biographical manner, Ed Hird shares how marriages can be strengthened, and lessons learned through thirty-five years of marriage.

An excerpt from the chapter

“Inside the heart of each and every one of us, there is a longing to be understood by someone who really cares. When a person is understood, he or she can put up with almost anything in the world.”

I penned those words in 1991 in the column I regularly write for a local newspaper in North Vancouver, British Columbia. As a priest, I’ve used these columns for 23 years to reach out to the wider community beyond my church doors. However, I had no idea how far outside my local sphere of influence these words had travelled.

My columns are printed in a community newspaper, but I also post them on my blog. When I did a recent Google search of the Internet, I discovered nearly 19,000 links to my column! I was amazed to discover that those words have been posted on thousands of strangers’ blogs, social networking pages and romance-oriented Web sites.”

Ed Hird’s bio

Ed Hird is the Rector of St. Simon’s Church North Vancouver, B.C., having served there since 1987. Ordained in 1980, he has also served at St. Philip’s Vancouver and St. Matthew’s Abbotsford.

Ed has been the National Chaplain and Past President for Alpha Canada. He once served as the National Chair for Anglican Renewal Ministries of Canada, during which he was one of three co-signers of the Montreal Declaration of Anglican Essentials http://www3.telus.net/st_simons/arm05.htm For the past 25 years, he has written over 360 articles as a columnist on spiritual issues for local North Vancouver newspapers.

In the last number of years, he has had the opportunity to lead conferences and retreats in Honduras, Washington State, BC, Alberta, Saskatchewan, Ontario, Newfoundland, and Toronto.  Ed anticipates finishing his Doctor of Ministry on ‘Strengthening Marriage’ in May 2013.  His second award-winning book is ‘Battle for the Soul of Canada’.

“Why did you write it?”

Marriages and relationships are foundational to a healthy society.

Links to author’s sites

Ed Hird’s website

Battle for the Soul of Canada blog

Links to where readers can buy the book

That’s Life Communications

Amazon

Chapters Indigo

