Dorene Meyer’s chapter in A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider

Bannock and Sweet Tea

Page 207

This story chronicles the life of one Aboriginal woman.

Bannock and Sweet Tea won two awards at the 2012 Canadian Christian Writing Awards in Toronto, ON. They were in the category of “short story” and “general readership.”

An Excerpt from the Chapter

“The dough is soft and pliable, absorbing warmth from my hands as I gently mold and shape it. It is my work but my pleasure, too, anticipating the smiles of my children, knowing their tummies will be full and their hearts satisfied.

“The door opens and they burst in, laughing, scolding and teasing, each wanting to tell me a bit of what they have discovered about the world, themselves or each other. I listen to each one as I serve bannock and sweet tea.”

M.D. Meyer’s Bio

Dorene Meyer is the author of eight novels, two children’s books and a reference book entitled Meet Manitoba Children’s Authors. Besides being a contributor to Hot Apple Cider, A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider and Measured Words, Dorene has edited and published thirteen anthologies: six with adults, three with teens and four with children.

Her many other writing credits include: editorial, reviews, news, feature articles, profiles, script-writing and poetry. Using this wide variety of writing experience, Dorene teaches classes that provide encouragement and practical help to writers of all genres.

As owner of Goldrock Press, Meyer has also published various books written by authors whom she has mentored including Tansi by Flora Rideout, Christmas on the Trapline by Brenda Fontaine, The Loner by Dana L. Coates, Hauntings by David Yerex Williamson, and A Northern Writer by Benjamin Paul.

Dorene has won several awards and received various grants for her writing. She is also a part-time instructor at University College of the North in Norway House, where she resides.

Why did you write it?

This is a story that has been working its way out of my heart and onto the paper for most of my life. I spent the first four years of my life in a First Nations community then my mother was a foster parent to hundreds of First Nations children. Today, I once again live and work in a First Nations community.

Bannock and Sweet Tea is about a woman named Gracie. It is her story. But it is also my story, and yours, too. There is no us and them; there is only us.

Visit Doreen at her website or Gold Rock Press or her blog

 

Links to where readers can buy the book

That’s Life Communications

Amazon

Chapters Indigo

