Donna Fawcett’s chapter in A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider

A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider

A Glimpse of Heaven

Page 302

A Glimpse of Heaven is a true story of my mother’s death and God’s graciousness to me as I struggled to cope.  God is a God of dreams.  He spoke to Jacob in a dream.  He spoke to Joseph and so many others in the Bible.  He speaks to many people since then and He gifted me with a glimpse of my mother in her eternal home.  This essay is an offering to those who are uncertain of what death brings.  It is a gift of hope for all who are willing to take hold of it.

Excerpt

We never knew that our mother was dying. She hadn’t told us—not with any conviction anyway—that she had been diagnosed with cancer 15 years earlier. I do remember a casual comment: “The doctor says I’ve got cancer, but I think he’s nuts.” And when nothing changed in her health or her lifestyle, the statement faded into the obscure corners of my mind. It was yanked out of hibernation in the last week of July of 2006, when my father pounded at my patio door and shouted for help to get her to the hospital. I followed him into the bedroom of their attached apartment to discover Mom, on her bed, weak and moaning.

Donna Fawcett

Donna Fawcett’s Bio

Donna Fawcett is the former creative writing instructor for Fanshawe College.  A graduate of Long Ridge Writers’ Group in Connecticut, she has articles in national and international magazines and is the author of two Canadian Award winning novels.  In 2010 her anthology piece “The Christmas Guest” from Cecil Murphey’s Christmas Miracles was shortlisted in The Word Guild Awards 2010.  She was shortlisted for the Polar Expressions Canadian writing contest 2010, 2011 and 2012.  Her 2011 anthology piece “A Glimpse of Heaven” from That’s Life! Communications’ anthology A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider was shortlisted in two categories in the 2012 The Word Guild Awards.  Her song Heaven’s Light won Best Song Lyrics in 2012.  Donna has just released her writing tutorial Duke the Chihuahua Writes! through Smashwords.com

Why did I write it?

People are afraid of dying.  My experience taught me that death is a doorway into a new and incredible existence.  Having witnessed the death of both parents and their excitement as they left this world, I wish to pass on the assurance that death is not the end.

Links to Author’s Sites

Donna Fawcett’s website

Donna Fawcett’s books on Smashwords

Links to where readers can buy the book

That’s Life Communications

Amazon

Chapters Indigo

