Judi Peers chapter in A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider

A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider

Margie and Me

Page 239

Margie and Me is a true story involving the handicapped woman I regularly drove to church a few years ago. For a long time I thought I was doing Margie a favour, but God revealed His presence to me in many amazing ways during my involvement with her and I think I gained more from our relationship than she did.

Excerpt

Who should I ask to help decorate? I wondered, busying my hands once more as I pondered the possibilities… Liz Telford? Shari Auger? Pauline?

Margie Oswald, God interjected.

Margie Oswald? I was somewhat startled, not only confused and surprised by the answer, but also by the fact that God Himself would want input into the decor at our ladies’ night out.

Margie Oswald, He repeated. His gentle whisper was as soft as sheep’s wool, yet His voice was crystal-clear.

Margie Oswald was the middle-aged woman I gave a ride to church every Sunday morning. Her mother had contracted German measles while she was pregnant, and Margie had been left with a number of health problems, including some physical and mental limitations. I had to help her up into the seat, then bully her wheelchair into the back of my van. Surely God wasn’t serious about her being part of the decorating committee.

Foam flowers, He added.

I squeezed more liquid soup into the now tepid water. Foamflowers? I questioned, even more confused, but at the same time fascinated and intrigued.

Judi Peers

Judi Peer’s Bio

Judi Peers is an author, speaker, and engaging Bible study leader. She has written several books for children, writes regularly for Gospel Publishing House, contributes to Chicken Soup for the Soul anthologies and has three inclusions in A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider by That’s Life Communications.  She has been writing part-time of late, as her husband is now retired and they are busy seeing the world. Rumour has it she was recently kicked out of St. Peter’s Basilica for being indecently attired. But that’s another story.

Why did I write it?

I wanted to document a few of the incredible ways God revealed Himself to me during this time with Margie. This story shows the awesome, amazing love God has for each and every one of His children.  It also demonstrates how He readily shares His wisdom and knowledge with us so that we too can radiate this love.

Links to Author’s Sites

Judi Peer’s Amazon page

Links to where readers can buy the book

That’s Life Communications

Amazon

Chapters Indigo

