Kevin Dautremont’s chapter in A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider

A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider

Dazed

Page 11

Dazed is a short story about a young farmer struggling to be a better husband and be more understanding to his wife. He comes to see that the gifts and abilities God has given us are for His glory. Our hopes and dreams may change with time and we may not realize them all. But, as we yield to Christ, He will create new dreams in us and give us the desires of our heart.

Excerpt

The quiet enveloped him and pressed him down toward the snow. He felt so tired. Confused. Dull. Pointless. Like a man discarding a heavy cloak, he shook himself. He looked upward once more, and wisps of steam rose with words no louder than a sigh, “Help me.”
One more passage came to him, this one written thousands of years earlier by another bewildered man. “There are three things that are amazing to me, four that I do not understand: the way of an eagle in the sky, the way of a snake on a rock, the way of a ship on the high seas and the way of a man with a maiden.”2
He spoke again, louder this time, “Not really helpful. I already know that I don’t understand. I’m asking for help. Didn’t You say if any man lacked wisdom he should ask? Well, hello?”
No hum from the stars and no answers from God.
Kevin Dautremont

Kevin Dautremont’s Bio

Kevin Dautremont is married with four children and is a family physician in Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan. He is part of a group of doctors who all try to combine their faith with good medical care. Kevin is a full service family doctor, doing everything from delivering babies to caring for nursing home patients, and is active in his church and his community. In 2008, he was named the Best New Canadian Christian Author by The Word Guild and Castle Quay books for his as yet unpublished novel, The Golden Conquest.

Why did I write it?

As a married man, I realized a long time ago that I will never fully understand my wife or any woman. However, I have also realized that if I listen to the Lord and open myself to His leading, I will be able to get a bit closer. This story is about that.

Links to author’s sites

Kevin Dautremont’s website 

Links to where readers can buy the book

That’s Life Communications

Amazon

Chapters Indigo

