Rosemary Flaaten’s chapter in A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider

A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider

True Thanksgiving

p.106

Life seldom goes the way we desire.  Instead, we find ourselves wallowing in disappointments and grief that threaten to rob us of  joy and fervour for life. “True Thanksgiving” gives the reader a glimpse into one of the saddest parts of my story – my mother’s drift into the abyss of Alzheimer’s Disease while I was only a teenage girl.  The sorrow wasn’t limited to that period of life. Rather there is an ongoing sadness that wells up at the most unexpected times, even as an adult woman. But, through this grief God has proven Himself to be faithful and the source of my joy and gratitude.

Excerpt

“At that tender age, I longed to have a mother who would give me advice when I needed to make decisions.  Instead, I was left to decipher this world alone, all the while pretending that my life was as normal as my friends’…As this array of memories swooped into my mind that Thanksgiving Sunday, self-pity consumed me, with anger crouched on the sidelines….He wanted me to get my eyes off the pain and to recognize the incredible ways He had helped me get through the quagmire of loss and hurt.  Even in the middle of my pain, He had been at work.  Now, He was tenderly calling me to trust Him to take care of me, no matter what.” (p.107-108)

Rosemary Flaaten

Rosemary Flaaten’s  Bio

Rosemary Flaaten, M.A., B.Ed., is an award-winning author, life and career coach, adjunct professor, internationally sought after speaker, and a Certified Personality Trainer. She coaches college aged young adults, professional women at various stages in their careers and individuals seeking relational and life skills improvements. Her published books include A Woman and Her Workplace: Building Healthy Relationships 9 to 5 (BHP, 2010) and A Woman and Her Relationships: Transforming the Way We Connect (BHP, 2007) both with accompanying DVD small group resource kits. Rosemary lives in Calgary with her husband and three teenage children.

Why did I write it?

I strongly believe that God uses the things we go through, both the good and the tough, to transform us and to bring us closer to Him. Our stories also have the potential to impact others, if we are willing to share them.  My prayer is that by sharing my pain and struggle around mom and Alzheimer’s Disease that somehow people will be drawn into a deeper faith in God and that ultimately He will be glorified.  This would become a beautiful example of God bringing good out of everything!

Links to Author’s site

Rosemary Flaaten’s website

Links to where readers can buy the book

That’s Life Communications

Amazon

Chapters Indigo

