Glynis Belec’s chapter in A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider

A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider

On Being Still and Knowing

 

page 92

 

On Being Still and Knowing speaks of some of the amazing ways God showed me how He is real and how He really does care about every detail of my life. God used quiet moments to encourage and teach me. He also used the crazy, confusing, scary moments to assure me that I could experience that special peace found only in Christ. There were some special people and some incredible events that happened that caused me to sit up and notice and in this story, I highlight some of these God moments.

 

An excerpt from the chapter

 

This is it. My final sleep before surgery. I am ready. I am Yours. I am prepared to be still and truly know that You are God! I am in awe at the confirmation that You have placed before me (and Gilles) this very night. What was the day’s scripture verse in the Our Daily Bread devotional for Tuesday, May 27? “Be still and know that I am God” (Psalm 46:10). God—You rock! You know this is my favourite scripture verse. I love the soft, subtle ways You find  to  communicate  with  me,  Lord—especially tonight. How blessed am I to know You in this heavenly way. How can anyone deny Your existence? You are real. You are living. You are in control…

That night I drifted into the land of slumber and found an amazing peace. The surgery went well, and before I knew it I was preparing myself for six months of intensive chemotherapy at the London Cancer Clinic.

I loved it when my oncologist asked me prior to a chemo- therapy session if I was a “religious person.” What an opportunity! He heard my heart that day as it lub-dubbed about how I was relying on the Lord for my daily strength and measure of trust. I prayed a seed was planted. Boldness in street corner preaching has never been my forte, but God was preparing me for some “Preach it, Sister!” kinds of opportunities throughout my journey. I decided to heed His nudges and tell my story to whoever was listening.

SONY DSC

Glynis Belec’s Bio

 

Glynis is an award winning writer and children’s author and cannot imagine a world without little people to inspire her. She collects fodder daily from her super students and their wonderfully inspiring antics. Glynis also regularly writes devotions, short stories for anthologies, articles for magazines and has recently had a story accepted for the latest Chicken Soup Series book, Angels Among Us. Glynis is also the market columnist for FellowScript –  a writer’s magazine. She usually has about five writing projects on the go at one time and she looks forward to the day when she can write full time (although  she will surely miss tutoring.)

 

Why did you write it?

 

On Being Still and Knowing started out as therapy. After I was diagnosed with cancer, and got over the fact that I wasn’t in control, I learned to be still and listen to God’s voice. I wrote this story because I wanted others to hear, be encouraged and assured that no matter what, God is always in control. I can’t say that I am glad I had cancer but going through that journey certainly forced me to be still and pay attention to how God works and made me realize that he cares about the details in every person’s life.

 

 

Links to author’s sites

 

Glynis Belec’s website 

Glynis Belec’s blog 

 

Links to where readers can buy the book

That’s Life Communications

Amazon

Chapters Indigo

 

 

One thought on “Glynis Belec’s chapter in A Second Cup of Hot Apple Cider

Comments are closed.