God, Me, and Sweet Iced Tea by Rose Chandler Johnson

God Me and Sweet Iced Tea

About the Book

Life is full of challenges that keep us from spending time with God, and hinder us from discovering His presence in our day-to-day activities. But He is always there, ready to pour out His blessings. If you desire to experience the reality of God in the everyday moments of life, Rose Chandler Johnson’s devotional journal, God, Me, and Sweet Iced Tea: Experiencing God in the Midst of Everyday Moments is for you.

In the South, nothing is more refreshing than a glass of sweet iced tea. Nothing, that is, except experiencing God in those small, everyday moments. God, Me, and Sweet Iced Tea is a deeply personal collection of spiritual treasures designed to help readers experience new mercies
each morning. Seasoned with insight and grace, this tender devotional points to the divine presence of God in everyday moments. Whether purchased as a personal resource or given as a heartfelt gift, God, Me, and Sweet Iced Tea will help readers develop a daily habit of turning to
God in those quiet moments of reflection.

Excerpt

No Man Can Tame the Tongue
“But the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.” James 3:8 (KJV)

Try as I might, I couldn’t seem to stop myself from adding comments when a group at work started “discussing” other colleagues—behind their backs, no less. Too often the discussions turned to second-guessing, critiquing, judging—gossiping and backbiting, in other words. This is not professional behavior, nor is it Christian behavior. Even when I only listened, my rapt attention indicated tacit approval. My conscience convicted me every time.

“Speak not evil one of another brethren. He that speaks evil of his brother, and judges his brother, speaks evil of the law, and judges the law: but if thou judge the law, thou are not a doer of the law, but a judge. There is one lawgiver, who is about to save and to destroy: who art thou that judges another?” (James 4:11) These words seem to have been written just for me.

Keeping my tongue from wagging was definitely harder than any diet I’d tried. James has much to say about this “unruly evil”. He says “the tongue can no man tame”. Man can control all manner of heavy machinery, and all manner of living things, but not that little member of the body! If no man can tame it, who can? Only God.

I started praying every morning on the way to work about keeping my mouth shut, avoiding all gossip and backbiting. It was easy to avoid the people who start such talk, walk away or walk out when conversations trailed off down that path. I could even say, “I’d rather not discuss that without so-and-so here.” Granted, after it became apparent that I disapproved of the behavior, I felt like I became the topic of conversation for awhile. For awhile, I felt uneasy. Then I forgot about it. For me, at least, the atmosphere became less stressful and more conducive to accomplishing the tasks at hand. My conscience no longer condemned me.
Suggested readings: Proverbs 16:28; Proverbs 26:20; James 4:11-12; James 4:11-12.

Journal Considerations: What do you think of the verse James 3:8?

“But the tongue can no man tame; it is an unruly evil, full of deadly poison.”

Have you experienced a tongue’s deadly poison?

Prayer: Dear Father God, my Creator, you are the Judge and Lord of my life. Have mercy on me. I want my tongue under your control. Forgive me for hurting anyone by my words. In Jesus’ Holy Name. Amen.

Thought for the day: The tongue is a fire, a world of iniquity.

Prayer Focus: The judges and court system in our country.

Rose Johnson
Rose’s devotions, poems, and articles have appeared in numerous Christian publications. She enjoys writing for her popular blog, Write Moments with God, and engaging with her readers. Rose is from a tiny Georgia town, and has lived in Martinez, GA for the last twenty-eight years. She has been a French and English teacher for the last twenty years. Rose enjoys baking, gardening, and spending time with her six children and their families.

Where to buy the book

Amazon

Barnes & Noble

