My Life A.S. Is – An Inside Look at Autism and Asperger’s Syndrome by Benjamin T. Collier

my%20life%20as%20is%20ebook2big

About the Book

Autism and Asperger’s Syndrome continue to affect an increasing number of children and adults around the world. They are puzzling conditions that create a barrier of communication between the child and anyone who wishes to know what the child is experiencing. After twenty-plus years of living on the Autism Spectrum, Benjamin T. Collier has written this book to help families understand a part of what their autistic loved ones may be going through. This is Benjamin’s story.

Book Excerpt

With no guidelines on the typical life of an autistic, I had no starting ground of what should and shouldn’t be expected of me. And developing from severe autism to high-functioning autism meant I wasn’t sure how close to standard I had become, and how much I still lacked. This created a lot of anxiety for me as I entered early adulthood. I’d heard so much about what I ought to do that I could no longer distinguish between what other people expected of me, what I expected of myself, and what God expected of me.

DSC03052_crop_crop

About the Author

Benjamin T. Collier has been writing science fiction and fantasy stories since childhood, and writing novels since the age of nineteen. He was born with severe autism, and was diagnosed with Asperger’s Syndrome (or High-Functioning Autism) at the age of seven. He grew up in a Christian family and has been actively involved in the church community through the Alpha ministry and leading and helping in small groups. He is an avid gamer and a fan of sci-fi and fantasy tales. Benjamin has always had a unique way of looking at things, and on his blog, he writes about spirituality, autism, pop culture, and often reviews television and films. Benjamin currently lives in Southern Ontario in a house surrounded by God’s wilderness.

Buy the Book

Amazon

