Dragonflies, Snowdrifts & Spice Cake by Tandy Balson

Dragonflies Snowdrifts and Spice Cake

About the Book

Dragonflies, Snowdrifts and Spice Cake is a wonderfully positive and insightful collection.  The author takes the most mundane, everyday object or event and recognizes a greater significance , drawing parallels and making connections that most people would never notice.

With each story being only a single page long, the pacing of the collection is very good, making it very hard to put down.”I’ll just read one more . . .Okay, so one more, but that’s it … well one more won’t hurt . . “  Janet Layberry, Editor Friesen Press

Book Excerpt

MUSHROOMS

As a friend and I were walking along a path in the woods, we noticed a few mushrooms growing nearby. Once we started looking for them, we saw many more of varying sizes and shapes. My friend leaned closer to take a picture of one of the larger mushrooms. Wanting an unobstructed shot, she carefully moved a few blades of grass that were resting on top of it. I was surprised to see the indentations the grass had left in the surface of the mushroom. The light contact had left an impression that had changed the mushroom’s appearance.
This made me think about things I come in contact with in my life. Everything has the power to leave a permanent impression. It doesn’t have to be something large to alter the way others view me.
Knowing this, I need to be aware of the influences in my life. Is it the positive or negative that will leave the impression? The more time I spend with God, the more his impression will be seen in me. His impression is what will make my life attractive to others.

“Don’t become like the people of this world. Instead, change the way you think. Then you will always be able to determine what God really wants –what is good, pleasing and perfect”
(Romans 12:2 GWT)

Tandy B

About the Author

Tandy is a wife, mother, grandmother, friend, volunteer and observer of life. Her greatest joys in life are spending time with family and friends, baking (but then she has to give it away so she doesn’t eat it all!), spending time in nature, reading and writing.

Tandy has been doing inspirational speaking in BC, Alberta and Saskatchewan since 2001. She posts twice weekly blogs at Time with Tandy.

Her work has been accepted for publication in FellowScript Magazine, testimony Magazine and The Upper Room.

Visit her website.

Buy the Book

Amazon

Friesen Press

