A Glimpse into the Writer’s Life

TWG Write! Canada 2011 001

The Write Canada conference grounds in Guelph, ON

Have you ever wondered what inspires authors to write what they write? I’ll give you a quick glance into the life of a writer with a little piece I wrote 5 years ago.

*

When God first called me to write, I was so excited and ready to do His will. But I didn’t know the first thing about the business of writing (besides the fact that I enjoyed it and kept a regular journal). When I saw an advertisement in testimony magazine for the God Uses Ink (now Write Canada) conference, hosted by The Word Guild, I felt led to attend.

At this conference, I excitedly signed up for every class and booked one-on-one appointments for every spare moment. I couldn’t get enough! I learned all about writing for children, writing for newspapers, writing for magazines, writing for publishing houses etc.

From there, it was a process of elimination. I tried just about everything…. I tried writing poems, writing for children, writing articles, writing songs, writing book reviews, writing short stories etc. I liked it all but felt torn and unfocused. I needed to narrow my love of writing into where I best fit.

I took two excellent on-line courses; a devotional writing course (by The Word Guild’s own Marcia Laycock) and a children’s writing course. 

In the meantime, I wrote a nonfiction book on health and fitness, articles on health, a weekly faith column for mainstream newspapers, and I started a novel. Through all this, I learned that I don’t mind articles but only if I’m invited to submit. I don’t want to interview people. I don’t like research. I don’t want to be a journalist. I like to write songs but feel that’ll be in the future. And so on.

I am glad to have the opportunity to pursue my interests slowly and discover in my own time where God wants me. I also pray and ask for guidance daily. If you are called to write, there are many opportunities to use your gift – have fun and enjoy exploring your call! First step? Try a writer’s conference such as Write Canada. You won’t regret it!

Janis Cox and myself at Write Canada

Janis Cox and myself at Write Canada

 

Write-Canada-button

*

Receive a free devotional e-book when you subscribe to Kimberley’s mailing list for updates and free offers

2 thoughts on “A Glimpse into the Writer’s Life

  1. Oh you bring back so many memories of all the courses I have taken. I, too, have had to learn to zoom in on what I am called to write about. Probably will miss this year’s conference due to grandbaby’s arrival but will certainly be praying for all the participants and leaders.
    Blessings,
    Janis

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.